

TCRS 2006-02: Additional Hurricane Katrina Disaster Relief - IR-2006-30 and Notice 2006-20

The Internal Revenue Service (IRS) has further extended individual and business taxpayer filing and certain payment deadlines for taxpayers hardest hit by Hurricane Katrina. The penalty for failure to deposit taxes timely will be waived, and the deadline for the collection and assessment of tax will be extended for these taxpayers. The new deadline is August 28, 2006 (previously February 28, 2006) for those taxpayers whose payment and filing deadline were on and after August 29, 2005 but before August 28, 2006.

The attached list shows the IRS designated areas for automatic extended relief. Also listed are those counties and parishes in Alabama, Louisiana and Mississippi whose taxpayers are eligible for the extension only if they identify themselves as Hurricane Katrina impacted taxpayers.

In a related move, the IRS, the Department of Labor's Employee Benefits Security Administration and the Pension Benefit Guaranty Corporation also extended the filing deadline for Form 5500 (previously February 28, 2006) to August 28, 2006. This new Form 5500 extension applies to plan administrators, employers and other entities affected by Hurricane Katrina, located in one or more of the counties and parishes on the attached list and whose filing deadline would have been on and after August 29, 2005 but before August 28, 2006.

In addition, this extension has been expanded to cover individuals determined by the IRS to be affected by Hurricane Katrina, such as:

- 1. all workers assisting in the relief activities in the covered disaster areas, regardless of whether they are affiliated with recognized government or philanthropic organizations;
- 2. any individual whose principal residence, and any business entity whose principal place of business, is not located in the covered disaster area, but whose tax professional/practitioner's office is located (or was located as of August 29, 2005) in the covered disaster area; and
- individuals, visiting the covered disaster area, who were killed or injured as a result of Hurricane Katrina and its aftermath. For this purpose, the estate of an individual visiting the covered disaster area who was killed as a result of the hurricane is also considered to be an affected taxpayer.

IRS Publication 4492 provides information regarding the changes to the tax law and relief provisions available to those affected by Hurricanes Katrina, Rita and Wilma.

Publication 4492 is available on IRS.gov or by calling the toll-free IRS disaster hotline at 1-866-562-5227.

·

Grily Whans

This Summary is designed to provide an overview of recent Hurricane Katrina taxpayer payment and filing relief and is not intended to be comprehensive. Transamerica Retirement Services and its representatives cannot give ERISA, tax or legal advice. This material is provided for informational purposes only based on our understanding of applicable tax laws in effect at time of publication and should not be construed as ERISA, tax or legal advice. Clients and other interested parties must consult and rely solely upon their own independent advisors regarding their particular situation and the concepts presented here. Although care has been taken in preparing this material and presenting it accurately, TRS disclaims any express or implied warranty as to the accuracy of any material contained herein and any liability with respect to it.

IRS Designated Disaster Areas for Automatic Extended Relief through Aug. 28, 2006

Louisiana Parishes Mississippi Counties

Cameron Hancock
Jefferson Harrison
Orleans Jackson

Plaquemines St. Bernard St. Charles St. Tammany

Disaster Areas Eligible for Additional Relief through Aug. 28, 2006by Self-Identification

Alabama Counties	Louisiana Parishes	Mississippi Counties	
Baldwin	Acadia	Adams	Leake
Choctaw	Ascension	Amite	Lincoln
Clarke	Assumption	Attala	Lowndes
Greene	Calcasieu	Claiborne	Madison
Hale	East Baton Rouge	Choctaw	Marion
Marengo	East Feliciana	Clarke	Neshoba
Mobile	Iberia	Copiah	Newton
Pickens	Iberville	Covington	Noxubee
Sumter	Jefferson Davis	Franklin	Oktibbeha
Tuscaloosa	Lafayette	Forrest	Pearl River
Washington	Lafourche	George	Perry
-	Livingston	Greene	Pike
	Pointe Coupee	Hinds	Rankin
	St. Helena	Holmes	Scott
	St. James	Humphreys	Simpson
	St. John	Jasper	Smith
	St. Mary	Jefferson	Stone
	St. Martin	Jefferson Davis	Walthall
	Tangipahoa	Jones	Warren
	Terrebonne	Kemper	Wayne
	Vermilion	Lamar	Wilkinson
	Washington	Lauderdale	Winston
	West Baton Rouge	Lawrence	Yazo
	West Feliciana		